The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the complete schedule of the Indian Premier League 2022. The 10-team IPL season will get underway on March 26 with a marquee battle between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, a repeat of last year’s final, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

The BCCI had earlier announced that there will be 70 league matches in the 10-team season as two new teams with Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans joining the bandwagon. The matches will be played across 4 Venus in Mumbai and Pune. The final of IPL 2022 will be held on May 29.

IPL 2022: New format explained

The 10 teams have been drawn into 2 groups of 5 teams each. The BCCI did not go for a draw unlike football competitions but grouped the 10 teams based on the number of titles they have won and the number of finals they have reached.

12 Double Headers in IPL 2022

5-time champions Mumbai Indians will begin their campaign on March 27, which will be the first of 12 double= headers in the league stage of IPL 2022.

“There will be 12 double headers in total with the first match starting at 3:30PM IST. All evening matches will start at 7:30PM IST,” the IPL said.

“In all, 20 matches each will be held at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, 15 matches each at Brabourne and MCA International stadium, Pune.”

Punjab Kings will face Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2nd match on March 27.

The teams were divided into two virtual groups with Mumbai Indians, who are the most successful side, headlining Group A. Chennai Super Kings, with 4 titles, headline Group B.


New sides Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants will begin their campaigns going against each other on Monday, March 28.

SunRisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals will be the last two teams to kick off their campaigns on March 29.

There will be a total of 74 matches in IPL 2022 with the BCCI set to decide the fixtures and venues for play-offs on a later date. Each team will play 14 matches in the league stages.

With each team set to play 14 matches in the league stages, a team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. For instance, from the above table, MI and CSK are in the same row despite being in different groups.

With the rest of the teams in the second group they will play only once during the season.


IPL 2022 Schedule: Fixtures of first 40 matches (IPL Screengrab)

IPL 2022 Schedule: Fixtures of next 38 matches (IPL Screengrab)

Chennai Super Kings will be looking to defend their title but it will not be easy as 10 teams will battle for the ultimate prize as the Indian Premier League returns home.

Source link

By Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.